Talking Snakes, With Legs, Afraid Of Crying Babies?

Today I was in my back yard planting trees when I saw a huge snake over four feet long burro quickly underground. It reminded me of a story I was told when I was a kid. I was told a story about the first two people God ever made, Adam & Eve! I was then told about the beautiful Garden he placed them in and about a snake who tricked Eve into eating the fruit of the forbidden tree. No one ever elaborated on this to me, but as a child, I thought in my mind, this snake must have had legs. God told him he was cursed, and as a punishment he was going to go on him belly and eat dust all the days of his life.

 

Genesis 3:14 And the Lord God said unto the serpent, Because thou hast done this, thou art cursed above all cattle, and above every beast of the field; upon thy belly shalt thou go, and dust shalt thou eat all the days of thy life:

Funny thing was, his descendants were cursed too, just like the descendants of Adam & Eve. No snakes alive today have legs. Some commentators suggest that even the serpent could have been able to fly. I don’t believe that is the case or God would not have told him he was cursed above all cattle and the beasts of the field.  So when I got older I started looking into answers for the Snakes with legs questions. It seems most commentators agreed with my childhood assumption. You can read an article on answers in Genesis about this as well. The have placed many well-known commentators thoughts on the subject in their article.

http://www.answersingenesis.org/articles/2010/01/26/satan-the-fall-good-evil-did-serpent-have-legs

As far as the talking part; the serpent wasn’t the last animal who had it’s say. Balaam, had a donkey who the Lord God opened his mouth and gave him the ability to speak.

Numbers22:28 Then the Lord opened the mouth of the donkey, and she said to Balaam, “What have I done to you, that you have struck me these three times?”

You have to remember that God is sovereign and he can do what ever he wants whenever he wants. There are no limitations on him. Parrots still have the ability to mimic speech, I’ve even heard some dogs say words and some sentences because they were trained to do so. Animal comprehension is really high once they have learned our language. In the pre-fallen world it could have not been uncommon for animals to speak or at least for Adam & Even to understand them. When the curse took place and no animal was in harmony with each other that language could very well have been lost.

The fall left behind a new change and new way of life. The ground was cursed to grow thorns and weeds, pain entered into childbirth, animals no longer were friendly toward each other. Sin cursed our planet as death and diseases entered the world. What once was “very good” according to God, is now corrupted. The good news is, even though Adam & Eve ushered in a curse, God had a back up plan! God saw Satan through his snaky disguise and foretold him of a baby that was coming to destroy him. Satan began hating the sound of a baby cry from that day forward.

Genesis 3:15 And I will put enmity Between you and the woman, And between your seed and her Seed; He shall bruise your head, And you shall bruise His heel.”

Did you ever wonder why so many ancient civilizations sacrificed babies? Moses was born at a time of Baby Killing, and Jesus was born into a time of baby killing. I wonder whom Satan is trying to stop now! I mean, look how many babies are killed every year here in America through abortion. Just who is Satan afraid of? Who is that person that will answer the call and be the Moses for America? We are in bondage of Sin and America is going to face a judgment if the Nation doesn’t repent and turn back to God. Satan knows this and is trying to silence the next Moses. But no matter how many babies he sacrifices through organizations like Planned Parenthood, the next Moses will arise! America is still a great country. Maybe the next Moses is already here just waiting for God to call him and say, “Let my people go!”

So did the snake have legs? I believe so! Could the snake talk or could Eve just understand him? I know not, but I believe that Eve was not afraid so it did not seem out of the ordinary for her. Does Satan want your child? YES! If he can’t kill your baby, he wants to destroy your baby through other means, like social depravity! Both of his plans seem like they are working just as they did in the day of Moses. But has God called you? Yes, he gave you power over Satan!  All you have to do is tell Satan, God sent me and told me to tell you, “Let my people go!” He has given you the power and authority! Let’s fight back by letting him hear babies cry, and by standing up against national immorality! You can still speak the loudest at the ballot box! Know the issues and vote morally and not monetarily!  Support only the candidates who have a track record of voting your morals! Do this and God will supply your needs!

Luke 10:17-20

17 Then the seventy returned with joy, saying, “Lord, even the demons are subject to us in Your name.”

18 And He said to them, “ I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven.

19 Behold, I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you.

20 Nevertheless do not rejoice in this, that the spirits are subject to you, but rather rejoice because your names are written in heaven.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Religion and Spirituality, Social Issues

Leave a Reply

